Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Ella Fitzgerald - Ella Abraça Jobim (1981)

28-05-2014, 15:36
Music | Jazz | Vocal Jazz | Latin | FLAC / APE

Ella Fitzgerald - Ella Abraça Jobim (1981)

Artist: Ella Fitzgerald
Title Of Album: Ella Abraça Jobim
Year Of Release: 1981
Label: Pablo
Genre: Vocal Jazz
Quality: APE (image+.cue+.log) | Mp3
Bitrate: Lossless | CBR 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:18:51
Total Size: 498 MB | 200 MB (Covers)

"For years, "The Girl fom Ipanema" was a staple in Ella Fitzgerald's songbook, so it's something of a wonder that it was not until 1981 that Ella Abraca Jobim, Fitzgerald's double-album immersion in Antonio Carlos Jobim's back catalog, appeared. Ella's first single-composer release since 1964's tribute to Jerome Kern, Ella Abraca Jobim is, more than anything, final proof of the unassuming Brazilian's place in jazz history alongside the great composers. Sadly Jobim's mellow bossa nova, drenched in the Brazilian concept of saudade, or agreeable melancholy, doesn't necessarily gel with Fitzgerald's swing-based and energetic vocal style. Fitzgerald and her small group take songs like "Agua de Beber (Water to Drink)" at just slightly too speedy a tempo, rushing a bit where they should be gamboling. Fitzgerald is in very good voice compared to some other recordings from her later years, though, sadly, she's clearly not at her peak. Norman Granz's production is typically excellent, however, and the arrangements are refreshingly free of the typical late-'70s/early-'80s post-fusion clichés. Neither Fitzgerald nor Jobim's finest, then, but not without merit. "


1. Somewhere in the Hills (Favela) 3:56
2. The Girl from Ipanema 3:50
3. Dindi 6:37
4. Desafinado (Off Key) 3:41
5. Water to Drink (Agua de Beber) 2:44
6. Dreamer (Vivo Sonhando) 4:55
7. Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars (Corcovado) 5:40
8. Bonita 2:50
9. One Note Samba (Samba de Uma Nota Só) 3:51
10. Triste 4:07
11. How Insensitive (Insensatez) 3:00
12. He's a Carioca (Ele É Carioca) 5:14
13. This Love That I've Found (Só Tinha de Ser Com Você) 5:17
14. A Felicidade 2:19
15. Wave 5:22
16. Song of the Jet (Samba Do Avião) 3:40
17. Photograph (Fotografia) 3:49
18. Useless Landscape (Inútil Paisagem) 7:59

Ella Fitzgerald — Vocals
Zoot Sims — Sax (Tenor)
Clark Terry — Trumpet
Toots Thielemans — Harmonica
Joe Pass — Guitar
Roland Bautista — Guitar
Oscar Castro-Neves — Guitar
Mitch Holder — Guitar
Paul Jackson, Jr. — Guitar
Mike Lang — Keyboards
Clarence McDonald — Keyboards
Terry Trotter — Keyboards
Abraham Laboriel, Sr. — Bass
Alex Acuña — Drums
Paulinho Da Costa — Percussion
Norman Granz — Producer

Ella Fitzgerald - Ella Abraça Jobim (1981)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.