Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Jumala Quintet - Turtle Crossing (2005) 320 kbps

1-03-2014, 18:35
Music | Jazz

Jumala Quintet - Turtle Crossing (2005) 320 kbps

Artist: Jumala Quintet
Title Of Album: Turtle Crossing
Year Of Release: 2005
Label: Clean Feed
Genre: Jazz, Free jazz
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 73:03
Total Size: 177 MB(+3%)


1. The Gift Of Nowhere
2. Turtle Crossing
3. Unspoken Oath
4. Weighing Of The Heart
5. Borrowed Light
6. All Is Always Now

personnel :

Paul Flaherty — alto (1,2,5,6) and tenor (3,4) saxophones
Joe McPhee — tenor (1,2,3) and soprano (2,5) saxophones, pocket trumpet (4,6)
Steve Swell — trombone
John Voigt — double bass
Laurence Cook — drums, percussion

This colorful blowout features saxophonists Paul Flaherty and Joe McPhee (the latter switches to pocket trumpet on two numbers), trombonist Steve Swell, bassist John Voigt, and drummer Laurence Cook emphasizing group improvisations. There are plenty of individual heroics and mood variation for variety with the most exciting moments are when the full quintet jams together at its most passionate. The five musicians had never played together before as a group and did not even rehearse before the recording began. Particularly strong are Joe McPhee's soprano solos and the wild playing of trombonist Steve Swell even if the final number, "All Is Always Now," ends a bit inconclusively. All five players were clearly inspired by the setting and the opportunity to play with each other, and Paul Flaherty deserves credit for gathering these musicians together.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.