Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Stan Getz and Chet Baker - The Stockholm Concerts (1999) {3 CD}

1-05-2014, 07:01
Music | Jazz | Vocal Jazz

Stan Getz and Chet Baker - The Stockholm Concerts (1999) {3 CD}

Artist: Stan Getz and Chet Baker
Title Of Album: The Stockholm Concerts
Year Of Release: 1983 / 1999
Label: Polygram Records / Verve Records
Genre: Jazz
Quality: MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 02:52:32
Total Size: 396 MB

According to this set's annotator, Mike Hennessey, and Stan Getz's biographer, Donald Maggin, the circumstances surrounding the making of these 1983 recordings was unpleasant in the extreme. For various reasons, Getz was unhappy to be concertizing with Baker and forced him out before the 35-date tour was halfway finished. Before Baker left, however, the men played a pair of concerts in Stockholm, which were fortunately recorded for posterity. Fortunately not because Getz and Baker shared any special rapport that led to a classic performance, but because the resulting album gives listeners another example of how wonderful a player Chet Baker was, even after years of drug addiction and general dissolution. Getz is his typical self -- lyrical, facile almost to the point of glibness, but musical nevertheless. Baker, on the other hand, is as he ever was -- one of the most spontaneously creative, emotionally compelling voices in jazz. The band is good if unspectacular; drummer Victor Lewis was a particularly nice choice in that he could drive a band like this without overwhelming the rather brittle lead voices. And Getz is excellent; if you're a Getz fan, he's in fine form here, so you won't be disappointed. Baker, on the other hand, is superb; it's his inimitable musicality that ultimately makes this rather pricey three-disc set a bargain.



1 Anouncement
Presenter – Bo Stenhammar 1:43
2 Stablemates 10:50
3 We'll Be Together Again 7:42
4 On The Up And Up 10:52
5 How Long Has This Been Going On 5:53
6 O Grande Amor 7:08
7 Just Friends 11:09


1 My Funny Valentine 9:00
2 Sipping At Bell's 8:40
3 Stella By Starlight 5:40
4 Airegin 7:46
5 The Baggage Room Blues 8:33
6 We'll Be Together Again 7:33
7 I'll Remeber April 11:10


1 Annoucement 1:25
2 Just Friend 8:38
3 My Funny Valentine 8:22
4 Sippin At Bell's 9:02
5 Blood Count 5:04
6 Milestone 9:55
7 Airegin 8:47
8 Dear Old Stockholm 5:28
9 Line For Lyons 2:12


Stan Getz - Sax (Tenor), Saxophone
Chet Baker - Trumpet, Vocals
Jim McNeely - Piano
George Mraz - Bass
Victor Lewis - Drums

Stan Getz and Chet Baker - The Stockholm Concerts (1999) {3 CD}

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.