Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Giuseppe Sinopoli, Staatskapelle Dresden - Schoenberg, Berg & Webern [8CD Box Set] (2009) (LOSSLESS & MP3)

21-05-2014, 19:36
Music | Classical Music | Discography | FLAC / APE

Giuseppe Sinopoli, Staatskapelle Dresden - Schoenberg, Berg & Webern [8CD Box Set] (2009) (LOSSLESS & MP3)

Artist: Giuseppe Sinopoli, Staatskapelle Dresden
Title Of Album: Schoenberg, Berg & Webern
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Teldec/Warner Classics
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (Tracks+.cue)/MP3
Bitrate: Lossless/320 kbps
Time: 08:35:58 min
Total Size: 2,1 Gb/1,15 Gb
Website: discogs

This magnificently performed and recorded set has to take place of place as the ideal introduction to the Second Viennese School and the music of the triumvirate mostly associated with this name composed of Schoenberg, Berg and Webern. On eight CDs one finds here the important and famous works from these composers in what are well-nigh definitive interpretations by the late-lamented Giuseppe Sinopoli who left the musical world so abruptly and tragically.

Arnold Schoenberg takes up practically half of this set and this is understandable as his output was singularly prolific when compared to the other composers. This "Gurrelieder" sweeps all before it; the glorious sound of the Staatskapelle Dresden matched by the superb team of soloists which includes Thomas Moser and Jennifer Larmore. The same intensity can be founding Alessandra Marc's singing of the Six orchestral songs which are early works, rather reminiscent of Mahler or Richard Strauss whilst the starkly intense "Erwartung" also finds Marc in equally fine voice.

Other works which we find here include "Pierrot lunair", a complex and highly difficult work as well as the equally intense "A Survivor from Warsaw" sung with passion by John Tomlinson, both works which find Schoenberg in true 12-tone element. When one turns to Berg, the musical language is equally stark but the orchestration is more Mahleresque, especially in the "Lyric Suite" and the lovely Violin Concerto, a passionate and beautiful performance by Reiko Watanabe. Other notable works by Berg in this set include the tragic farce, "Lulu" in an excellent symphonic suite as well as the fragments from "Wozzeck", another great work which I discovered in my early twenties and which still haunts me to this day.

The final disc is dedicated to Anton Webern and Sinopoli is really attuned to this idiom which is even more minimalist than the other composers. "Im Sommerwind" and the Symphony receive what are probably their best performances ever, surpassing Karajan's ground breaking set recorded in the early 1970's with the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. With acutely summarized notes by Guy Rickards and near perfect recordings, this set is now the essential companion for those who wish to acquire a comprehensive introduction to this sort of music.

Giuseppe Sinopoli, Staatskapelle Dresden - Schoenberg, Berg & Webern [8CD Box Set] (2009) (LOSSLESS & MP3)

Giuseppe Sinopoli, Staatskapelle Dresden - Schoenberg, Berg & Webern [8CD Box Set] (2009) (LOSSLESS & MP3)

Arnold Schoenberg
Six Orchestral Songs, Op. 8
1. Natur - Heinrich Hart
2. Das Wappenschild - Des Knaben Wunderhorn
3. Sehnsucht - Des Knaben Wunderhorn
4. Nie ward ich, Herrin, müd' - Francesco Petrarca
5. Voll jener Süsse - Francesco Petrarca
6. Wenn Vöglein klagen - Francesco Petrarca
7. Begleitmusik zu einer Lichtspielszene, Op. 34: Drohende Gefahr - Angst - Katastrophe
8. 'A Survivor from Warsaw', Op. 46
9. Chamber Symphony No. 1 Op. 9
Alessandra Marc (soprano) (1-6)
John Tomlinson (narrator) (8)
Staatskapelle Dresden
Giuseppe Sinopoli

Arnold Schoenberg
1-21. 'Pierrot Lunaire' Op.21 (live recording)
22-25. 'Erwartung' Op.17 (live recording)
Alessandra Marc (soprano)
Staatskapelle Dresden
Giuseppe Sinopoli

Arnold Schoenberg
1-12. 'Gurrelieder'. Part 1
01 Orcherster-Vorspiel
02. Nun dämpft die Dämm'rung jeden Ton
03. O, wenn des Mondes Strahlen milde gleiten
04. Ross! Mein Ross! Was schleischt du so träg!
05. Sterne jubeln, das Meer, er leuchter
06. So tanzen die Engel vor Gottes Thron nicht
07. Nun sag' ich dir zum ersten Mal
08. Es ist Mitternachszeit
09. Du sendest mir einen Liebesblick
10. Du wunderliche Tove!
11. Orchester-Zwischenspiel
12. Tauben von Gurre
Deborah Voight
Jennifer Larmore
Bernd Weikl
Kenneth Riegel
Staatskapelle Dresden
Giuseppe Sinopoli

Arnold Schoenberg
'Gurrelieder'. Part 2 and 3, Des Sommerwindes wilde Jagd
01. Part 2: Herrgott, weisst du, was du tatest?
02. Part 3: Erwacht, König Waldemars Mannen wert!
03. Deckel des Sarges klappert und klappt
04. Gerüsst, o König, an Gurresees Strand!
05. Mit Toves Stimme flüstert der Wald
06. Ein seltsamer Vogel ist so'n Aal
07. Du strenger Richter droben
08. Der Hahn erhebt den Kopf zur Kraht
09. Des Sommerwindes wilde Jagd: Orchester-Vorspiel
10. Herr Gänsefuss, Frau Gänsekraut
11. Seht die Sonne
Deborah Voight
Jennifer Larmore
Bernd Weikl
Kenneth Riegel
Staatskapelle Dresden
Giuseppe Sinopoli

Alban Berg
Seven Early Songs (Orchestral version, 1928):
01. I. Nacht
02. II. Schilfied
03. III. Die Nachtigall
04. IV. Traumgekrönt
05. V. Im Zimmer
06. VI. Liebesode
07. VII. Sommertage
Altenberglieder, Op. 4:
08. I. Seele, wie bist du schöner
09. II. Sahst du nach dem Gewitterregen den Wald
10. III. Über die Grenzen des All
11. IV. Nichts ist gekommen
12. V. Hier ist Friede
Three Orchestral Pieces, Op. 6
14. Präludium: Langsam
14. Reigen: Anfangs etwas zögernd - Leicht beschingt
15. Marsch: Mässiges Marschtempo
16. 'Der Wein', aria for soprano and orchestra
Juliane Banse (soprano) (1-7)
Alessandra Marc (soprano) (8-12)
Doborah Voigt (soprano) (16)
Staatskapelle Dresden
Giuseppe Sinopoli

Alban Berg
Three Pieces from the Lyric Suite:
01. I. Andante amoroso
02. II. Allegro misterioso - Trio estatico
03. III. Adagio appassionato
Three Pieces from 'Wozzeck':
04. I. (Act One, Scenes 2 & 3)
05. II. (Act Three, Scene 1)
06 III. (Act Three, Scenes 4 & 5)
Symphonic Pieces from the opera 'Lulu'
07. I. Rondo: Andante
08. Tempo I
09. Hymne: Sostenuto
10. II. Ostinato: Allegro
11. III. Lied der Lulu: Comodo
12. IV. Variationen: Moderato - Grandioso - Grazioso - Funèbre - Affettuoso - Thema
13. V. Adagio: Sostenuto - Lento - Grave
Alessandra Marc (soprano) (4-13)
Staatskapelle Dresden
Giuseppe Sinopoli

Alban Berg
Violin Concerto 'Dem Andenken eines Engels'
01. Andante - Allegretto
02. Allegro - Adagio
Chamber Concerto for piano, violin and 13 wind instruments
03. 1. Thema scherzoso con variazioni
04. 2. Adagio
05. 3. Rondo ritmico con introduzione
Reiko Watanabe (violin) (1-5)
Andrea Lucchesini (piano) (3-5)
Staatskapelle Dresden
Giuseppe Sinopoli

Anton Webern
01. 'Im Sommerwind'
02. Passacaglia, Op. 1
Six Orchestral Pieces, Op. 6
03. I. Etwas bewegt
04. II. Bewegt
05. III. Zart bewegt
06. IV. Langsam marcia funebre
07. V. Sehr langsam
08. VI. Zart bewegt
Five Orchestral Pieces, Op. 10
09. I. Sehr ruhig und zart
10. II. Lebhaft und zart bewegt
11. III. Sehr langsam und äusserst ruhig
12. IV. Fliessend, äusserst zart
13. V. Sehr fliessend
Symphony, Op. 21
14. I. Ruhig schreitend
15. II. Variationen
Concerto, Op. 24
16. I. Etwas lebhaft
17. II. Sehr langsam
18. III. Sehr rasch
19. Variations, Op. 30: Lebhaft

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

hhpmusic   User offline   6 June 2014 08:46

Why, all files are deleted!!!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

valechek82   User offline   6 June 2014 19:30

Lossless Links fixed

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

tubarec   User offline   28 November 2016 08:51

a reup please!!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.