Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Eddie Higgins - Time on My Hands: Arbors Piano Series, Vol. 6 (2000) (MP3 320 kbps)

9-06-2014, 12:39
Music | Jazz

 Eddie Higgins - Time on My Hands: Arbors Piano Series, Vol. 6 (2000) (MP3 320 kbps)

Artist: Eddie Higgins
Title Of Album: Time on My Hands: Arbors Piano Series, Vol. 6
Year Of Release: 2000
Label: Arbors
Genre: Jazz
Quality: MP3
Bitrate: 320 kbps
Total Time: 01:09:26 min
Total Size: 159 mb
Website: allmusic

That Higgins is a virtuoso pianist is not in question; in fact, his group works with Wayne Shorter, Eddie Harris, trio sessions, and duets with wife Meredith D'Ambrosio are all solid prior examples of his substantial talent. This is his first all solo piano disc, and it's a beaut. Though well versed in bop, modern mainstream, and Swing-era styles, Higgins is a very competent stride pianist, albeit on the lighter side. Proof positive is offered during several of the 14 tracks, including "Can't Get out of This Mood," "You and the Night and the Music," "You Turned the Tables on Me," "A Sleepin' Bee," and "Nina Never Knew." He's also a pure ballad interpreter on "Ruby," "Say It Isn't So," "Stairway to the Stars," and, especially, the lengthy and languid "A Handful of Stars." One would hope Higgins, capable as he is, would crank it up a bit, and he does during the bulk of the bouncy tune "A Blues Serenade." In essence he's a great swinger as that rhythm buoys witty piano lines on the relaxed "I Hadn't Anyone 'Til You," the patient "Lucky to Be Me," or deliberate waltz "Zigeuner." Higgins changes speeds effectively on a "time" medley featuring the even-keeled "I Didn't Know What Time It Was," the down-trodden "Time Was," and the uppity, hopeful title track. Here's a thought not widely echoed but always implied: Eddie Higgins is one of the great jazz pianists of the last 50 years, and all the evidence you need is on this marvelous CD. Highly recommended.

 Eddie Higgins - Time on My Hands: Arbors Piano Series, Vol. 6 (2000) (MP3 320 kbps)
01. Can't Get Out Of This Mood (4:32)
02. Zigeuner (6:03)
03. I Hadn't Anyone Till You (4:42)
04. Lucky To Be Me (5:12)
05. You And The Night And The Music (3:13)
06. Ruby (4:19)
07. You Turned The Tables On Me (4:47)
08. A Handful Of Stars (6:20)
09. A Sleepin' Bee (4:23)
10. Say It Isn't So (6:26)
11. Time Medley: I Didn't Know What Time It Was • Time Was • Time On My Hands (7:36)
12. Nina Never Knew (4:01)
13. Stairway To The Stars (4:54)
14. A Blues Serenade (3:04)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.