Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - Brazil: Sampa Nova [Sao Paulo - A Tropical Flash Of The Future] (2003)

10-06-2014, 15:34
Music | Jazz | Nu Jazz | Bossa Nova | World | Latin | Ethnic | Downtempo | Lounge | FLAC / APE

VA - Brazil: Sampa Nova [Sao Paulo - A Tropical Flash Of The Future] (2003)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: Brazil: Sampa Nova [Sao Paulo - A Tropical Flash Of The Future]
Year Of Release: 2003
Label: Sterns Brasil
Genre: Sampa Nova, World, Downtempo, Samba, Future Jazz
Total Time: 65:39 min
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 157 mb / 443 mb (Covers)

VA - Brazil: Sampa Nova [Sao Paulo - A Tropical Flash Of The Future] (2003)

Review by Chris Nickson
São Paolo is Brazil's Bristol, the cradle of its electronic scene. Much of that is perhaps due to the late producer Suba, who made his home there. But it's also a magnet to those with a slightly different creativity. On the basis of the Sampa Nova compilation, there's definitely a scene in the city -- and one of remarkably high quality. With no Suba, one of the real pioneers and innovators in Brazilian electronica, there's no leader, but the artists seem to be doing fine by themselves. Cibelle is here, of course, with the inventive "Deixa" from her debut, as is multi-instrumentalist Fernanda Porta. For both, melody is the prime ingredient in a song, and everything else secondary -- in other words, in the best Brazilian tradition, they use real songs, not tacking together effects and beats, which seems to be the heart of the São Paolo. It's even evident in a pair of different mixes of Otto's "Bob," which offer radically different ideas on the piece -- but never lose that sense of melody inherent in the composition. Even the strangest track, from Jair Oliveira, a spoken piece about everyday life in the city, has real melody and rhythm.


1. Sereia - Béco
2. Desafio - Assis, Gilberto
3. Bob - Gilberto, Bebel
4. Easy Boom - Jr. Deep
5. Catimbó - Aragáo, Helder
6. Deixa - Cibelle
7. Do Mote Do Doutor Charles Zambohead - Lira
8. The Secrets of Floating Island '99 - De Oliveira, Xerxes
9. Sambassim - Carvalho, Alba
10. São Paulo, Fim Do Dia - Domingos, José
11. O Futuro Pertence À Jovem Vanguarda - De Castro, Max
12. Tempo - Bussab, Mauricio
13. Seja O Que For - Beto, Paulo
14. Bob [Edu K Mix] - Gilberto, Bebel
15. Chamegá - Barreto, Vicente



Uploaded | | Oboom | TurboBit

:: CBR 320 kbps ::

Uploaded | | Oboom | TurboBit

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted