Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Gene Autry - Sing Cowboy Sing: The Gene Autry Collection [Box Set] (1997)

26-06-2014, 10:17
Music | Folk | Country | Oldies | FLAC / APE

Gene Autry - Sing Cowboy Sing: The Gene Autry Collection [Box Set] (1997)

Artist: Gene Autry
Title Of Album: Sing Cowboy Sing: The Gene Autry Collection
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: Rhino / R272630
Genre: Traditional Country
Total Time: 3:04:35
Format: FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: Lossless
Total Size: 422 mb

Many of the songs on this three-CD box set appear on other albums, but not in these versions. These are transcriptions from Autry's Melody Ranch radio show, which aired from 1940 to 1956. As such, they offer up some powerful nostalgia, even to listeners who weren't alive then. Happily, though, the music's just as potent on its own terms. Hollywood's singing cowboys (and their music) had little to do with real cowboys (and their music), but it's hard to debate authenticity while Autry is so agreeably crooning "Back in the Saddle Again," "You Are My Sunshine," and "Don't Fence Me In" to the friends and neighbors out there in radio land. --John Morthland

Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Sing, Cowboy, Sing!: The Gene Autry Collection is a comprehensive overview of the most famous singing cowboy in Hollywood history. Spanning three CDs and 84 tracks, the box set contains every one of Autry's biggest hits, plus several unreleased cuts from his Melody Ranch radio show and a handful of rarities from his classic Columbia recordings. Though the set is far too exhaustive for the casual listenter, Sing, Cowboy, Sing! is a loving tribute to Autry, and it is worth the investment of any devoted fan.


Disc: 1
1. Back In The Saddle Again
2. Dust
3. Sing Me A Song Of The Saddle
4. Tumbling Tumbleweeds
5. The One Rose
6. That Silver-Haired Daddy Of Mine
7. Rhythm Of The Range
8. Blueberry Hill
9. El Rancho Grande
10. Mellow Mountain Moon
11. We Never Dream The Same Dream Twice
12. When You And I Were Young Maggie
13. Maria Elena
14. Be Honest With Me
15. Tears On My Pillow
16. The Yellow Rose Of Texas
17. Lonely River
18. Tweedle-O-Twill
19. At Mail Call Today
20. Don't Live A Lie
21. Don't Hang Around Me Anymore
22. I'll Be Back
23. Silver Spurs (On The Golden Stairs)
24. I Wish I Had Never Met Sunshine
25. You Only Want Me When You're Lonely
26. You're Not My Darlin' Anymore
27. Oklahoma Hills

Disc: 2
1. Sioux City Sue
2. Someday You'll Want Me To Want You
3. Gonna Build A Big Fence Around Texas
4. The Old Lamplighter
5. San Fernando Valley
6. I'm A Fool To Care
7. Goodbye Little Darling Goodbye
8. You Can't See The Sun When You're Crying
9. I Tipped My Hat And Slowly Rode Away
10. The Angel Song
11. One Hundred And Sixty Acres
12. At Sundown
13. It Happened In Monterey
14. It Makes No Difference Now
15. The Singing Hills
16. You Laughed And I Cried
17. Pretty Mary
18. Mexicali Rose
19. Wave To Me, My Lady
20. Let The Rest Of The World Go By
21. Honey, I'm In Love With You (The Honey Song)
22. Ole Faithful
23. Here Comes Santa Claus
24. You Are My Sunshine
25. Buttons And Bows
26. Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
27. Shame On You
28. While The Angelus Was Ringing
29. Under Fiesta Stars

Disc: 3
1. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
2. Mule Train
3. Dear Hearts And Gentle People
4. Chattanoogie Shoe Shine Boy
5. Peter Cottontail
6. Gone Fishin'
7. Teardrops From My Eyes
8. (I've Got Spurs That) Jingle, Jangle, Jingle
9. South Of The Border
10. The Last Round-Up
11. Don't Fence Me In
12. Ridin' Down The Canyon
13. I Was Just Walking Out The Door
14. You're The Only Star In My Blue Heaven
15. The Night Before Christmas Song (with Rosemary Clooney)
16. Look Out The Window (with Rosemary Clooney)
17. Frosty The Snowman
18. Somebody Bigger Than You And I
19. Have I Told You Lately That I Love You
20. I'm Thinking Tonight Of My Blue Eyes
21. Your Cheatin' Heart
22. I Hang My Head And Cry
23. It's My Lazy Day
24. You're The Only Good Thing That's Happened to Me
25. Harbor Lights
26. The Leaf Of Love
27. You've Got To Take The Bitter With The Sweet
28. Back In The Saddle Again (Closing Theme)


Uploaded | | Oboom | TurboBit

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted