Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


OV Wright - The Soul Of OV Wright (Reissue) (2009)

30-06-2014, 15:47
Music | Soul | R&B | FLAC / APE

OV Wright - The Soul Of OV Wright (Reissue) (2009)

Artist: OV Wright
Title Of Album: The Soul Of OV Wright
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: UMC
Genre: Soul
Quality: Mp3 | Flac
Bitrate: 320 kbps | Lossless
Total Time: 51:24 Min
Total Size: 129 Mb | 292 Mb


1. You're Gonna Make Me Cry 3:24
2. I'd Rather Be Blind, Crippled And Crazy 2:46
3. When You Took Your Love From Me 3:07
4. Gonna Forget About You 2:14
5. Everybody Knows (The River Song) 3:02
6. Don't Let My Baby Ride 3:04
7. I Don't Want To Sit Down 2:04
8. Born All Over 3:20
9. Ace of Spades 2:23
10. Eight Men, Four Women 3:06
11. A Nickel and a Nail 3:44
12. Heartaches, Heartaches 2:56
13. Drowning On Dry Land 2:55
14. Monkey Dog 2:23
15. He's My Son (Just The Same) 2:49
16. I've Been Searching 2:39
17. Motherless Child 2:34
18. I'm Going Home (To Live With God) 2:44

The Soul of O.V. Wright isn't fancy, but it gets the job done. In that way, this solid 18-track compilation is just like its subject, one of the most underrated deep soul singers of his era. Although the Houston-based Wright had the grit of Otis Redding (minus Redding's occasional tendency to oversing) and the spiritual grace of Sam Cooke's pre-secular work, Wright only managed a couple of major hits on the R&B charts, and not even his best single, 1965's startling, Ray Charles-like ballad "'You're Gonna Make Me Cry,'" crossed over to the pop charts. Regardless, all 18 tracks here are sublime deep soul, from the testifying swing of his first single "'I Don't Want to Sit Down'" to his remarkable work with Willie Mitchell in the '70s. ("'I'd Rather Be Blind, Crippled and Crazy'" is every bit the equal of any of Mitchell's better-known work with Al Green from the same period.) There is plenty more to savor where this came from, but The Soul of O.V. Wright is a terrific introduction to this amazing performer.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.