Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Eddie Palmieri - The Sun of Latin Music (1974)

15-07-2014, 21:01
Music | Jazz | Latin | Other | FLAC / APE

Eddie Palmieri - The Sun of Latin Music (1974)

Artist: Eddie Palmieri
Title Of Album: The Sun of Latin Music
Year Of Release: 1974 (CD 2007)
Label: Musical Productions
Genre: Latin Jazz, Afro-Cuban Jazz, Salsa
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue+.log)
Bitrate: Lossless
Total Time: 37:37
Total Size: 205 MB

Review by Evan C. Gutierrez:
A master of the traditional and the progressive, the styles of the past and the bright, swinging future, Eddie Palmieri is one of the most influential Latino pianists of the 20th century. His extreme versatility and artistic vision are brilliantly displayed on The Sun of Latin Music. While most Latin jazz musicians fall into either staunch traditionalism or pursuing progressive ideas to the detriment of groove and accessibility; Palmieri marries both ideals effortlessly. With smooth, danceable rhythm, lush vocals, and a clear center to the song, combined with sophisticated arrangements, tunes like "Desea Salvaje" and "Nunca Contigo" both swing the dancer and captivate the discriminating listener. Palmieri's interest in stylistic variety, including styles like danzon, guaguanco, and cumbia, not common of '70s era salsa, enrich the album and show off his versatility. "Un Dia Bonita," a Latin suite of sorts, give the listener a clear picture of both Palmieri's virtuosity and his adventurous compositional nature. Though over the course of the record there aren't any instrumental performances to rival the piano for attention, the fierce, fiery piano is plenty. Suitable for either the casual ear of the salsa fan, or the careful attention of the jazz aficionado, The Sun of Latin Music shines brightly, high above the horizon of its peers.


01. Nada de Ti (6:32)
02. Deseo Salvaje (3:41)
03. Una Rosa Espanola (5:22)
04. Nunca Contigo (3:51)
05. Un Dia Bonito (14:53)
06. Mi Cumbia (3:18)

Eddie Palmieri - piano
Eddie "Gua-Gua" Rivera - bass
Tommy Lopez - bongo
Eladio Perez - conga
Nicky Marrero - timbales
Lalo Rodriguez - lead vocals
Mario Rivera - baritone saxophone, flute
Ronnie Cuber - tenor saxophone
Peter Gordon - French horn
Jose Rodriguez, Virgil Jones - trombones
Barry Rogers - trombone, tuba
Vitin Paz - trumpet
Tony Price - tuba
Alfredo De La Fe - violin
Jimmy Sabater, Willie Torres - chorus

Download / Скачать:

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
6 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.