Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Carla Thomas - Hidden Gems [Remastered] (2004)

19-08-2014, 13:22
Soul | Funk | R&B | FLAC / APE

Carla Thomas - Hidden Gems [Remastered] (2004)

Artist: Carla Thomas
Title Of Album: Hidden Gems
Year Of Release: 2004
Label: Stax / SCD248568-2
Genre: Rhythm & Blues, Soul, Funk
Total Time: 56:42 min
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue, log-file)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 136 mb / 314 mb

Carla Thomas is one of the sweet Queens of Soul and the wonderful collection of unreleased gems shows that Carla recorded some great material, what's so amazing about this CD is the quality, one who listens to this will wonder why some of it wasn't released! several of these songs scream hit! "Loneliness", "Little Boy", "Life Saver" are just some of the highlights, every fan of Carla should have this CD in their collection!

In the glorious decade and a half of sound that was Stax in the '60s and early '70s, Carla Thomas was the Queen of Memphis Soul. She was born in Memphis in 1942, and 18 years later she recorded a duet with her father Rufus Thomas, giving the fledgling Satellite label its first taste of success with the regional hit "Cause I Love You." As her 18th birthday drew nigh, she cut her first solo single, the teen ballad "Gee Whiz (Look at His Eyes)." Written a few years earlier and rejected by Vee-Jay in Chicago, it gave Satellite its first national hit, breaking the Top Ten mark on both the R&B and pop charts.

Shortly thereafter Satellite became Stax, and Carla proceeded to claw her way onto the national charts another 22 times with such immortal slices of soul as her answer song to Sam Cooke, "I'll Bring It on Home to You," as well as "Let Me Be Good to You," "B-A-B-Y," "Tramp" (with Otis Redding), and "I Like What You're Doing to Me." Carla released six solo albums and, with Redding, one duet album on Stax between 1961 and 1971. In 2007 a live album she recorded for Stax at Washington's famed Bohemian Caverns back in 1967 was released in its entirety, including an impromptu cameo set from her father, Rufus Thomas.


01. (03:02) I'll Never Stop Loving You
02. (03:03) I Wonder About Love
03. (02:47) Little Boy
04. (02:37) Loneliness
05. (02:24) (Your Love Is A) Life Saver
06. (02:47) Sweet Sensation
07. (02:56) You'll Lose A Good Thing
08. (03:09) I've Made Up My Mind
09. (02:41) My Man Believes In Me
10. (02:30) I Like It
11. (03:18) Run Around
12. (02:31) Good Good Lovin'
13. (02:29) That Beat Keeps Disturbing My Sleep
14. (02:38) If It's Not Asking Too Much
15. (03:23) It Ain't No Easy Thing
16. (03:55) Toe Hold
17. (02:39) Good Man
18. (02:39) I Can't Hide It
19. (02:46) Thump In My Heart
20. (02:29) Goodbye My Love



Uploaded | Oboom | RapidGator

:: CBR 320 kbps ::

Uploaded | Oboom | RapidGator

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
4 voted