Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Help Yourself - Strange Affair, The Return Of Ken Whaley & Happy Days (1998)

2-09-2014, 06:05
Rock | FLAC / APE

Help Yourself - Strange Affair, The Return Of Ken Whaley & Happy Days (1998)

Artist: Help Yourself
Title Of Album: Strange Affair, The Return Of Ken Whaley & Happy Days
Year Of Release: 1998
Label: BGO Records
Genre: Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Quality: Lossless
Bitrate: FLAC (image+.cue)
Total Time: 01:48:15
Total Size: 719 Mb


CD1 - 1972 - Strange Affair
01. Strange Affair - 3:26
02. Brown Lady - 4:44
03. Movie Star - 5:47
04. Deanna Call and Scotty - 3:49
05. Heaven Row - 4:18
06. Experpts from 'The All Electric Fur Trapper' - 9:33
07. Many Ways of Meeting - 3:54

CD2 - 1973 - The Return Of Ken Whaley & Happy Days
01. Candy Kane - 4:13
02. Pioneers Of The West In The Head - 3:21
03. Who Killed Paradise - 3:42
04. Amy - 4:20
05. Blown Away - 4:24
06. Man Were Glad To Know You - 3:21
07. It Has To Be - 12:18
08. The Golden Handshake - 6:26
09. Jesus What Are Little Kids For - 2:57
10. Virginia - 3:41
11. Watching At The Station - 4:30
12. Seashell - 2:55
13. I've Got Beautiful You - 4:50
14. My Friend - 7:46
15. Elephant By My Side - 3:59

This reissue on the British-based BGO label contains the band's second (Strange Affair) and fourth (The Return of Ken Whaley) albums along with the bonus LP Happy Days, which was included free with the Ken Whaley album. The LPs were originally released on the United Artists/ Liberty Records label in 1972 and 1973, respectively. Help Yourself remained on the second tier of British bands and was never able to break out commercially. On this set, the band blends its hippie pastoral sounds with a West Coast-styled psychedelia that will appeal to fans of such acts as the Grateful Dead, Quicksilver Messenger Service, or even Phish. While the band did achieve some degree of success in the early '70s and developed a large fan base, it broke up after The Return of Ken Whaley. The 15 songs on this two-CD set include some beautiful Crosby, Stills & Nash-styled harmonies together with stunning jams and melodic acoustic tunes with a rural feel. The albums have been remastered from original master tapes and the package contains an in-depth essay on the history of the band, along with photos and reproductions of the original album graphics. A companion piece to a reissue of the band's first and third albums by the same label, this is a superb package that highlights a relatively unknown British band with an American sound.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.