Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


East River Pipe - The Gasoline Age [Remastered Deluxe Edition] (2014)

9-10-2014, 16:35
Rock | Alternative | Indie | FLAC / APE

East River Pipe - The Gasoline Age [Remastered Deluxe Edition] (2014)

Artist: East River Pipe
Title Of Album: The Gasoline Age
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Merge Records
Genre: Indie Rock, Alternative
Total Time: 1:18:05
Format: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks)
Quality: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Total Size: 189 mb / 460 mb

Having unintentionally pulled off a "Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle" that makes the (equally accidental) Sex Pistols look like rank amateurs, Fred M. Cornog finally reappears with LP number four. A few years ago, he signed to a major label that subsequently folded. So he never recorded a note for them, but got to keep most of his generous advance. Good things sometimes happen to good people: this lightning stroke of outrageous luck meant that the reclusive but affable, well-loved solo songwriter could move his home studio out of New York to a small house in the New Jersey town of his youth. The first result is The Gasoline Age, an album that revolves around Cornog's modest but buoyant charm. Not that he's lost his throbbing melancholia or overriding sense of the shy underdog having his day. But somehow, the boy seems jazzed, more contented behind even his most pointed little barbs such as "All You Little Suckers" and "Shiny, Shiny Pimpmobile." With a little more space to set up his microphones than a tiny corner of a cramped Queens living room, Cornog's self-production seems more expansive, brighter but not glossy, warmer but no less homespun than earlier efforts such as 1994's Poor Fricky and 1996's Mel. His songs still come as aural tapestries of ringing guitar chords, mood keyboards, pitter-patter drum machine, and that reassuring, vulnerable but determined voice. They just seem to glisten more now. With so long to stockpile, Cornog is overflowing with tunes just waiting to be discovered, like chocolate bars in gold paper wrapping, or little jewels in tissue paper. The mini-Spector may never play a live gig in his life, still recovering from his post-high school alcoholism and homelessness nearly two decades ago, but you can bet that several of these compositions will again be performed by other bands on stages soon. A knack is a knack, and a Cornog tune comes complete with all the right nuances and playful touches behind his straightforward melodies. It's an LP like a little-'burb New Jersey lemonade stand in summer, friendly conversation with every cup sold. Like the old Ian Dury song, with a little well-earned good fortune, Cornog has reasons to be cheerful, and you can hear it.


01. Shiny, Shiny Pimpmobile
02. Hell Is an Open Door
03. Cybercar
04. Wholesale Lies
05. My Little Rainbow
06. Party Drive
07. King of Nothing Never
08. 14th Street Boys Stolen Car Club
09. All You Little Suckers
10. Astrofarm
11. Down 42nd Street to the Light
12. Atlantic City (Gonna Make a Million Tonight)
13. Don't Hurry

Bonus tracks:
14. How's It Feel to Piss It All Away
15. Here Comes the Hurricane
16. The Handsome Cruel-Eyed Men
17. Here Comes the Pill Armies
18. Let's Kill the Matador
19. Golden Hate
20. Flyin', Lyin', Dyin'
21. WTC
22. Easy to Forget



cbr 320 kbps


ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted