Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Herbie Hancock - Thrust - 1974 [AcousticSounds] (2014)

8-12-2014, 19:13
Music | Jazz | Funk | FLAC / APE

Herbie Hancock - Thrust - 1974 [AcousticSounds] (2014)

Artist: Herbie Hancock
Title Of Album: Thrust
Year Of Release: 2014
Label: Columbia/Legacy
Genre: Jazz-Funk
Total Time: 38:49 min
Format: FLAC (tracks)
Quality: Lossless 48kHz/16bit / 96kHz/24bit
Total Size: 244 mb / 838 mb

The follow-up to the breakthrough Headhunters album was virtually as good as its wildly successful predecessor: an earthy, funky, yet often hamonically and rhythmically sophisticated tour de force. There is only one change in the Headhunters lineup- swapping drummer Harvey Mason for Mike Clark - and the switch results in grooves that are even more complex. Hancock continued to reach into the rapidly changing high-tech world for new sounds, most notably the metallic sheen of the then-new ARP string synthesizer which was already becoming a staple item on pop and jazz-rock records. Again, there are only four long tracks, three of which (Palm Grease, Actual Proof, Spank-A-Lee) concentrate on the funk, with plenty of Hancock's wah-wah clavinet, synthesizer testures and effects, and electric piano ruminations that still venture geyond the outer limits of post-bop. The change-of-pace is one of Hancock's loveliest electric pieces, Butterfly, a match for any tune he's written before or since, with shimmering synth textures and Bennie Maupin soaring on soprano (Hancock would re-record it 20 years later on Dis Is Da Drum, but this is the one to hear). This supertight jazz-funk quintet album still sounds invigorating a quarter of a century later.


1. "Palm Grease" (Hancock) – 10:38
2. "Actual Proof" (Hancock) – 9:42
3. "Butterfly" (Hancock) – 11:17
4. "Spank-A-Lee" (Hancock, Clark, Jackson) – 7:12

Herbie Hancock – Fender Rhodes electric piano, Hohner D-6 Clavinet, ARP Odyssey, ARP Soloist, ARP 2600, ARP String Ensemble
Bennie Maupin – soprano and tenor saxophone, saxello, bass clarinet, alto flute
Paul Jackson – electric bass
Mike Clark – drums
Bill Summers - percussion

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 80
5 voted