Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Jack Owens - Blues At Home 8: Recorded In Bentonia, Mississippi (1978-1982) (2013)

10-12-2014, 18:22
Music | Blues

Jack Owens - Blues At Home 8: Recorded In Bentonia, Mississippi (1978-1982) (2013)

Artist: Jack Owens
Title Of Album: Blues At Home 8: Recorded In Bentonia, Mississippi (1978-1982)
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Mbirafon
Genre: Country Blues, Delta Blues
Format: MP3
Quality: 320 kbps, 44.1 Khz
Total Time: 76:09
Total Size: 178 Mb
Covers: Front

01. Hard Times (Take 1) (2:47)
02. Hard Times (Take 2) (2:45)
03. Hard Times (Take 4) (3:25)
04. Catfish Blues (Take 1) (2:55)
05. Catfish Blues (Take 2) (3:25)
06. Cherry Ball (Take 1) (3:00)
07. Cherry Ball (Take 2) (3:48)
08. Cherry Ball (Take 3) (3:47)
09. Cherry Ball (Take 4) (6:32)
10. Don't Sell My Monkey (Take 1) (2:21)
11. Don't Sell My Monkey (Take 2) (3:19)
12. The Devil (Take 1) (4:40)
13. The Devil (Take 2) (3:53)
14. The Devil (Take 3) (3:46)
15. The Devil (Take 4) (3:34)
16. Keep On Grumbling (Take 1) (4:30)
17. Can't See, Baby (3:36)
18. Keep On Grumbling (Take 2) (3:46)
19. Keep On Grumbling (Take 3) (3:17)
20. Give Me Your Money, Baby (Take 2) (1:58)
21. Give Me Your Money, Baby (Take 3) (3:04)
22. Ain't No Loving, Ain't No Getting Along (Take 4) (1:50)

The eighth volume of the “Blues At Home” Collection, this CD features one of the most important blues artists ever known. Born in 1904 in Bentonia, Mississippi, Jack Owens spent his whole life there farming. He was the master of a distinguished traditional blues style characterized by peculiar guitar tunings, vocal style, and repertoire. Along with his fellow-countryman Skip James and an old generation of Bentonian musicians, Owens represents the top-notch of the blues culture in the United States. Despite his importance, very little of his music has ever been recorded and released on record, leaving pieces that he used to play like “Baby Please Don't Go,” “Cypress Grove Blues,” or “Special Rider Blues” unrecorded. Discovered in 1966, Owens cut some outstanding material issued on Decca, Rounder, and Testament LP in the '60s and '70s, performing alone and with the accompaniment of the local harmonica player Benjamin “Bud” Spires. In 1978, 1980, and 1982, I had the chance to meet Owens at his home in Bentonia and to record, during several informal sessions, the material finally released on this CD, which mostly had remained unreleased for over 30 years. In 1978, Owens was also filmed by ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax and appears in the documentary film The Land Where The Blues Began. From the early '80s until his death in 1997, Owens participated in several public events and folk festivals, also receiving a congratulatory letter from then U.S. president Bill Clinton. The 1982 interview is featured in volume 15 of the series. All tracks have been fully digitally remastered in 2013 from the original tapes. ~Giambattista Marcucci

My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Uploaded | Turbobit

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.