Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Sa Chen - Rachmaninov: 6 Etudes Tableaux; Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition; A Night on Bald Mountain (2009) {SACD}

11-11-2016, 15:22
Classical Music | HD & Vinyl

Title: Plays Rachmaninov & Mussorgsky
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: PentaTone
Genre: Classical
Quality: SACD (DSD64 2.0, DST64 5.1; Image.iso)
Total Time: 66:01 min
Total Size: 3,23 Gb

The name of pianist Sa Chen is perhaps unfamiliar to most music-lovers today, but will undoubtedly become more famous in years or even months to come, judging from the prodigious talents exhibited on this new SACD of Russian music on the PentaTone label. Born in Chongqing, China, Sa Chen began her musical studies at the Sichuan Conservatory, and she later continued at London’s Guildhall School and the Hochschule für Musik in Hanover. Although she has been the recipient of prizes from age 14 onward, it was at the International Chopin Competition in 2000 and later at the Van Cliburn Competition, that her reputation was secured. A critic once wrote: “Fleet- fingered pianists are a dime a dozen today – where are the musicians?” From the haunting opening measures of the Rachmaninoff Etude-Tableau Op.33 No.2, it’s clear that Sa Chen is a musician of the first-rank, one who combines a flawless technique with an innate musicality. She presents 6 Etudes in all, drawn from Opp.33 and 39, and throughout, her playing is marked by a delicacy of shading with never a moment of bravura for its own sake.
As equally demanding as the Etudes-Tableaux is A Night on Bald Mountain, Modest Mussorgsky’s first major work for orchestra - a tale of spirits, witchcraft, and bells tolling at dawn, a sort of 19th century Thriller, 90 years before Michael Jackson. The piano transcription is as difficult as it sounds, and Sa Chen approaches the music with a splendid panache. Nevertheless, in my opinion, she leaves the best until last, with Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition from 1874. Inspired by a group of paintings by Victor Hartmann, the work encompasses a myriad of contrasting moods, and Sa Chen captures them all effortlessly, thereby bringing to a close this most satisfying disc.

Sa Chen - Rachmaninov: 6 Etudes Tableaux; Mussorgsky: Pictures at an Exhibition; A Night on Bald Mountain (2009) {SACD}
Sergei Rachmaninov - 6 Etudes Tableaux
1 6 Etudes Tableaux - Op. 33 No. 2 in C major
2 Op. 39 No. 4 in B minor
3 Op. 33 No. 5 (originally No. 8) in G minor
4 Op. 39 No. 6 in A minor
5 Op. 39 No. 5 in E flat minor
6 Op. 33 No. 3 (originally No. 6) in E flat minor

Modest Mussorgsky - A Night On Cold Mountain
7. A Night on Bald Mountain

Modest Mussorgsky - Pictures at an Exhibition - Suite for Piano
8 Pictures at an Exhibition - Promenade
9 Gnomus
10 Promenade
11 Il vecchio Castello
12 Promenade
13 Tuileries (Dispute d'enfants apres jeux)
14 Bydlo
15 Promenade
16 Ballet of the Unhatched Chicks
17 Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuyle
18 Promenade
19 Limoges. Le marché (La grande nouvelle)
20 Catacombae (Sepulcrum romanum)
21 Promenade Con mortuis in lingua mortua
22 The Hut on Chicken's Legs (Baba-yaga)
23 The Heroic Gate (in the Old Capital of Kiev)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
5 voted

Pelteus   User offline   25 January 2015 17:46

thakns ¡¡ thanks ¡¡¡

  • Dislike
  • +1
  • Like

Panhistoricus   User offline   23 June 2016 09:42

Thanks a lot for reuploading this SACD 3

  • Dislike
  • +2
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.