Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Lamar Holley - Lo-Fi (Expanded Edition) (2015)

2-02-2015, 21:26
Music | Pop | FLAC / APE

Lamar Holley - Lo-Fi (Expanded Edition) (2015)

Artist: Lamar Holley
Title Of Album: Lo-Fi
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: Remaining Records
Genre: Baroque Pop, Singer-Songwriter
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 45:41 min
Total Size: 107 / 251 MB
WebSite: bandcamp


1. Casio Intro (0:36)
2. Jack Loves Julie (2:46)
3. Double Rubble (2:38)
4. It's Amazing (2:43)
5. The Castle of Wonders (2:38)
6. Solitude (0:24)
7. Rubber Duties (1:39)
8. To Escape Dark Dreams (4:28)
9. Awakening (Interlude) (0:29)
10. Johnny In School (6:49)
11. Sorry, Charlie (1:58)
12. Genius (children's bonus) (3:46)
13. Amelia (children's bonus) (1:47)
14. At the Circus (3:03)
15. Breadwinner (4:34)
16. Confession (3:08)

After the autobiographical Confessions of a College Student, Lamar Holley turned his attention to dust-collecting concept material from his late teenage years. What follows is a musical miscellany of lo-fidelity gems, mostly from his collaboration with Mark Plummer.

In the mid-nineties, Holley and Plummer recorded improvisations, mined the playback for material, then arranged and produced the songs as part of a larger Abbey Road-esque concept album, released on cassette to family and friends. The "stream-of-consciousness" nature of these improv-written songs results in character-based mini-dramas: broken families, a carnival act gone awry, and bleak war-torn existence.

This expanded edition contains three previously unreleased tracks from Holley and Plummer's collaboration: "At the Circus" (the prequel to "The Castle of Wonders"), "Breadwinner" (the first song of the trilogy that includes "Double Rubble" and "It's Amazing"), and "Confession" (in which a drunken Father McClergy confesses his sins to a child and vows to change his life).

Later, Holley lightens up with a six-minute schoolboy epic, chronicling the pain of classrooms, crushes, and parents. "Sorry, Charlie" sounds like a four-track cassette production of late-night singing and cheap Casio keyboard presets. Still, despite the obvious homemade sound, Holley remains "in character" throughout.

Even the bonus tracks retain a character-driven charm. The hi-fi "Genius" and "Amelia" are children's song demos about Edison and Amelia Earhart.

Fittingly, the album begins with "Jack Loves Julie", the only autobiographical song in the collection. Hiding behind a nursery-rhyme persona, Lamar Holley reveals more than metaphor; he reveals the raw beginnings of his career as a songwriter/recording artist.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

musman   User offline   3 February 2015 09:50

3 +++++ Thank you.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.