Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


High Speed Downloads

Big John Greer - I'm The Fat Man (2007)
[MP3 Version]

8946 downloads at 13 mb/s

Big John Greer - I'm The Fat Man (2007)
[FLAC Version]

9672 downloads at 25 mb/s

Big John Greer - I'm The Fat Man (2007)

5-03-2015, 20:55
Blues | R&B | FLAC / APE

Big John Greer - I'm The Fat Man (2007)

Artist: Big John Greer
Album: I'm The Fat Man
Year Of Release: 2007
Label: Rev-Ola Bandstand
Genre: Blues, RnB
Quality: 320 kbps | Lossless
Format: MP3 | FLAC
Total Time: 00:51:11
Total Size: 177 mb | 388 mb


01. Drinkin' Wine, Spo-Dee-O-Dee
02. I Ain't Got Nothin' To Lose - Big John Greer with Lucky Millinder & His Orchestra
03. Rockin' With Big John
04. Long, Tall Gal
05. If I Told You Once
06. Rocking Jenny Jones
07. Red Juice
08. I Want Ya, I Need Ya
09. Big John's A-Blowin'
10. Clambake Boogie
11. Have Another Drink And Talk To Me
12. Strong Red Whiskey
13. Got You On My Mind
14. You Played On My Piano - Big John Greer with Dolores Brown
15. Slow And Easy
16. I'm The Fat Man
17. I'll Never Let You Go
18. Confusion Blues - Big John Greer with The Du Droppers
19. Ride Pretty Baby - Big John Greer with The Du Droppers
20. Don't Worry About It - Big John Greer with The Du Droppers
21. Drinkin' Fool
22. Too Long
23. Bottle It Up And Go
24. Play Me Some Loud Music
25. Lucky, Lucky Me
26. Soon, Soon, Soon
27. Blam! - Big John Greer with The Four Students
28. Can't Stand It Any Longer
29. Come Back Maybelline
30. Night Crawlin'

John Marshall Greer, born on November 21, 1923 in Hot Springs, Arkansas, is widely regarded as one of the very best tenor saxophonists to ever grace the R&B genre of music, and a pretty good singer to boot, as you will hear for yourself in this album from the Rev-Ola division of London's Cherry Red Records. It has great sound and informative, interesting liner notes.

Another great collection of jump blues and R&B from Rev-Ola, this time featuring heavyweight singer and sax player Big John Greer recorded between 1949 and 1955. His earlier sides follows the pattern of the blues shouters like Roy Brown and Wynonie Harris. Over several 1949/50 sessions Greer belts out some great rockin' songs like his hot cover of Stick McGhee's Drinkin' Wine Spo-Dee-O-Dee plus Long Tall Gal/ I'm The Fat Man and others along with some storming instrumentals like Rockin' With Big John and Big John's A Blowin'. The later sessions find Big John mostly just exercising his mighty lungs with the sax chores handed over to the awesome Sam "The Man" Taylor. The sessions really start to heat up when Mickey "Guitar" Baker joins the fray in '53 and includes his wild version of the old blues standard Bottle It Up And Go, his answer to Chuck Berry Come Back Maybelline, the appropriately titled Play Me Some Loud Music, Lucky Lucky Me and others. This CD also includes his only hit, the great, much covered, blues ballad Got You On My Mind. On three tracks John is joined by the great vocal group The Du Droppers and the great instrumental Blam features sensational guitar by Baker and exclamations from The Four Students. You'd better have a fire extinguisher ready 'cos by the time this disc is finished your CD player will be smoking!

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.