Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Sara Sant'Ambrogio - J.S. Bach: Cello Suites 1, 3 & 5 (2009)

3-01-2016, 09:17
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: J.S. Bach: Cello Suites 1, 3 & 5
Year Of Release: 2009
Label: Sebastian Records
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
Total Time: 01:14:43
Total Size: 413 Mb


Suite No. 3 in C major BWV 1009
01. Prelude 3.39
02. Allemande 4.13
03. Courante 2.57
04. Sarabande 5.31
05. Bourree I and II 4.19
06. Gigue 3.41

Suite No. 1 in G major BWV 1007
07. Prelude 3.07
08. Allemande 5.33
09. Courante 2.54
10. Sarabande 3.40
11. Menuet I and II 3.30
12. Gigue

Suite No. 5 in C minor BWV 1011
13. Prelude 7.43
14. Allemande 6.28
15. Courante 2.30
16. Sarabande 4.01
17. Gavotte I and II 4.51
18. Gigue 2.52

Most of Sara Sant'Ambrogio's recordings have been as cellist with the Eroica Trio, but she takes on the odd numbers of J.S. Bach's Six Suites for unaccompanied cello in this 2009 solo outing, and it's an ambitious undertaking. This album faces comparisons with several great recordings of the suites, and this young cellist likewise faces scrutiny for playing works associated with such names as Casals, Fournier, and Rostropovich, past masters of the instrument. There is a level of technical accomplishment cellists are expected to reach before attempting the suites, and emotional maturity and depth of expression are prerequisites for making them communicate. Sant'Ambrogio certainly has the acumen to play them well, favoring a fluid, linear approach rather than a more rhythmically articulated style, and her lyrical expressions are earnest and sincere. This appears to be the first of two volumes, with the suites programmed unusually as Nos. 3, 1, and 5, so one must await the even-numbered suites before judging the whole cycle. Yet even though this album is unlikely to win over listeners who have already chosen a favorite set, Sant'Ambrogio's loyal fans will enjoy it and appreciate her risk-taking.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

tiger   User offline   29 June 2015 19:16

Thanks a lot.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

arana   User offline   4 January 2016 23:31

Happy 2016 and thank you for the beautiful music!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.