Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


VA - OM 15: Celebrating 15 Years Of OM Records [2CD Box Set] (2009)

2-08-2015, 13:25
Electronic | Downtempo | House | Deep House | Disco | FLAC / APE

VA - OM 15: Celebrating 15 Years Of OM Records [2CD Box Set] (2009)

Artist: Various Artists
Title Of Album: OM 15: Celebrating 15 Years Of OM Records
Year Of Release: 2009
Label (Catalog#): OM Records [OM 361]
Genre: Electronic, Nu Disco, House, Downtempo
Quality: Mp3 / FLAC (tracks +.cue,log)
Bitrate: CBR 320 kbps / Lossless
Time: 2:35:34
Full Size: 373 mb / 996 mb

San Francisco's Om label, despite its new age-y moniker, has made a place for itself in the dance music marketplace by encouraging anything but meditation: on the contrary, Om's consistent call is for rear ends to be lifted out of seats, taken straight to the dancefloor, and shaken with abandon. Even when delivering more downtempo grooves, the feel is always more social than mystical or contemplative. What has always set the label apart from its competition is its catholicity: where other imprints focus on house, techno, breaks, drum'n'bass, or neu-dub, Om has very happily embraced whatever its staff seems to think will be fun. That's not to say that there isn't a recognizable Om sound; on the contrary, to hear a track from J Boogie's Dubtronic Science or King Kooba or Kaskade is to immediately recognize a clean, colorful, and robustly funky sound that is practically an Om trademark. This excellent retrospective suffers slightly from a couple of baffling omissions (no Fred Everything? no Kaskade?) but makes up for them with some classic material that even fans may have forgotten. On the uptempo disc are such brilliant bangers as "Together" by J Boogie's Dubtronic Science (here in a slamming funk remix by Crazy P), the swinging "Chapter Two" by Pezzner, and a chugging funk-soul vocal by Aqeel on Nacho Marco's "Move You." The chill-out disc is equally fine, and really not much less funky, offering flavors that range from reggae (the horn-driven dub of "Like a Tree" by Idan K & the Movement of Rhythm) to laid-back electronic pop (James Curd's "Wills and the Won'ts"), and jazzy electro ("Please You" by Atjazz). Even Alland Byallo's glitchy "Head First Omega" settles into a nice, gentle groove once its weird sound effects get sorted out. Rarely has this much variety sounded so collectively distinctive, or this much funk sounded so sweet and friendly.


Disc: 1 - Night
1. Together - Crazy P Remix (J-Boogie's Dubtronic Science feat. Jennifer Johns)
2. The Latest (Sygaire & Defcon feat. Capitol A)
3. C'Mon Rock (Daz-I-Kue presents Stan Steam)
4. Beezy Operator - Vocal Edit (Spirit Catcher)
5. Tonight - Detroit Mix (Opolopo & Demetrius)
6. Move You (Nacho Marco feat. Aqeel)
7. Orchestrating Maneuvers In The Dark - Edit (Radio Slave)
8. Chapter_Two (Pezzner)
9. Set It Off (Smoken' Mirrors)
10. No Applause - 15 Year Edit (Fish Go Deep)
11. This Feelin' (Lovebirds)
12. We Are Giants - Original (Lance De Sardi)

Disc: 2 - Day
1. Like A Tree (Idan K & The Movement of Rhythem feat. Melanie Hitchcock)
2. Las Jacarandas (Eighty Mile Beach)
3. The Wills and the Wonts - Enzo Ponzio Mix (James Curd)
4. Kisses (Donn T)
5. Busy Bee - 15 Year Dub (The Jazzual Suspects)
6. Together As One - Edit (Charles Webster feat. Samatha James)
7. Please You (Atjazz feat.Clyde)
8. Head First Omega (Alland Byallo feat. Cari Golden)
9. Microphone Hands (Jadey Love)
10. Stargirl - Original (Mike Monday)
11. Groove on 98 - Edit (Frankie Flowerz)
12. Vacation (Belle Fast Radio)
13. The Salt (Tarran the Tailor feat. Max Ulis)
14. Montezuma's Revenge (Rocket Empire)
15. Inner Space (Christian Prommer's Drumlesson)

Compiled By – Rob Grega

Uploaded | HitFile

cbr 320 kbps
Uploaded | HitFile

ALL Music

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
4 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.