Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


William Parker - For Those Who Are, Still (2015)

19-08-2015, 17:57
Music | Jazz | FLAC / APE

William Parker - For Those Who Are, Still (2015)

Artist: William Parker
Title Of Album: For Those Who Are, Still
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: AUM Fidelity
Genre: Jazz, Avant-Garde/Free Jazz
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 218:06 min
Total Size: 514 MB / 1.14 GB
WebSite: Album Preview


CD1 - For Fannie Lou Hamer + Vermeer

1 For Fannie Lou Hamer (28:00)

Todd Reynolds: violin / Shiau-Shu Yu: cello / JD Parran: various winds / Sam Furnace: various winds
Ravi Best: trumpet / Masahiko Kono: trombone / Kathleen Supové: piano / Nicki Parrot: bass
JT Lewis: drums / Jim Pugliese: percussion / featuring Leena Conquest: voice
• Recorded live at The Kitchen, NYC on October 28, 2000.

2 Vermeer (7:09)
3 Awash In The Midst of An Angel's Tears (4:19)
4 Essence (2:47)
5 Flower Song - Take 2 (6:48)
6 Just Feel (0:57)
7 Feet As Roses (3:36)
8 Gongs For Deaf Dreams (3:19)
9 Sweet Breeze (4:56)
10 Flower Song - Take 1 (6:59)

Leena Conquest: voice / Darryl Foster: soprano & tenor saxophone
Eri Yamamoto: piano / William Parker: bass, hocchiku
• Recorded at The Gallery Recording Studio, Brooklyn on March 6, 2011.

CD2 - Red Giraffe With Dreadlocks

1 Villages, Greetings and Prayer (15:36)
2 Souls Have Fallen Like Rain (14:37)
3 The Giraffe Dances (19:46)
4 Tour of The Flying Poem (5:53)
5 Children Drawing Water From The Well (6:15)
6 Where Do You Send The Poem (12:00)

Sangeeta Bandyopadhyay: voice, electronic shruti box / Mola Sylla: voice, m’bira, ngoni
Bill Cole: double-reed instruments / Rob Brown: alto saxophone
Klaas Hekman: bass saxophone, flute / Cooper-Moore: piano
William Parker: bass / Hamid Drake: drums
• Recorded January 2012 in Paris, France.

CD3 - Ceremonies For Those Who Are Still

1 A Magical Figure Dances Barefoot in the Mud (4:51)
2 Light Shimmering Across a Field of Ice (2:28)
3 Trees With Wings (5:10)
4 Rise Up In Sound (7:57)
5 Humble Serious (7:02)
6 Tea Leaves of Triple Sadness (4:48)
7 Ritual (3:52)
8 Winter (5:49)
9 My Cup (3:42)
10 Encore (4:16)

NFM Symphony Orchestra, Jan Jakub Bokun: conductor
with Soloists of NFM Choir and
Charles Gayle: tenor & soprano saxophone, piano
William Parker: bass, doson ngoni, bamboo flutes
Mike Reed: drums
• Recorded in premiere performance at the Jazztopad Festival,
Wroclow, Poland on November 15, 2013.

11 Escapade For Sonny (25:25)

Charles Gayle: tenor saxophone
William Parker: bass
Mike Reed: drums
• This trio improvisation preceded the premiere of Ceremonies..

For Those Who Are, Still is a magnificent 3CD box set of new and previously unissued music from world-renowned composer-bassist William Parker. This set is comprised of four distinctly compelling long-form works – Parker’s first composition written for symphony orchestra performance; a commissioned piece for a standing new music ensemble; a “chamber-jazz” song series for voice / soprano sax / piano / bass; a composition created specifically for a particularly diverse Parker assemblage in Universal Tonality mode. The four works are linked by a focus on and greater adherence to William Parker’s written compositions; the depth and breadth of the resultant performances is astonishing. As ever in his four+ decades of profound output, improvisation of a very high order is a natural part and parcel of these multifarious expositions.

The elementally unifying thread of this whole set is life and death itself, with the exhortation to take example from those who have lived life with full and un-ending compassion for other human beings; appreciating that we all live and die together and the best path forward is through peace, with kindness and respect mutually allocated from all, to all. Inherent in the title, this is music for living: For Those Who Are, Still.

The set begins on CD1 begins with a work of great synesthetic capacity. For Fannie Lou Hamer is a stunning homage to this indefatigable American civil rights leader. This piece was commissioned by The Kitchen, NYC, for performance by their 10-piece house band in the Kitchen House Blend series. William wrote words to accompany his music, and included singer Leena Conquest to the assembly. As is amply demonstrated here, and in her work with Parker’s Raining On The Moon & Inside Songs of Curtis Mayfield projects, Conquest is a particularly gifted and tuned-in performer of his lyrics. Her enunciation and soulful contralto does justice to his unsparing and luminous poetry. Leena is also featured here on Vermeer, a studio session dedicated to poetic song-form, with Darryl Foster (soprano & tenor sax), Eri Yamamoto (piano) and Parker (bass & hocchiku).

Red Giraffe With Dreadlocks is a long-form work written specifically for the particular group of talents who performed it; its staging made possible by the central location of Paris, France. Joining Parker (bass) and his long-time compatriots Cooper-Moore (piano), Hamid Drake (drums), Rob Brown (alto sax) are Senegalese griot Mola Sylla, classically-trained Indian singer Sangeeta Bandyopadhyay, Dutch bass saxophonist Klaas Hekman, and double-reed master Bill Cole. Red Giraffe.. is yet another beautiful manifestation of a concept to which Parker has often returned. Universal tonality, as he wrote in the sleeve notes accompanying the album, Double Sunrise Over Neptune, “is based off of the idea that all sounds like human beings come from the same place. All sound has a heartbeat and breathes the same as each human being. Some sounds are born in Africa; others are born in Asia, Europe, Australia or America. These sounds pass through certain human beings. We don’t invent sounds, we are allowed to encounter them; we don’t own them, they existed before we were born and will be here after we are gone.”

Ceremonies For Those Who Are Still marks the momentous occasion of William Parker’s first work composed for symphony orchestra. It was commissioned by Poland’s National Forum of Music for premiere performance at the Jazztopad Festival in Wroclaw, and is performed by the NFM Symphony Orchestra (conductor, Jan Jakub Bokun) together with the eight principals of NFM Choir. Charles Gayle (tenor & soprano saxophones, piano), William Parker (bass, doson ngoni, bamboo flutes), and Mike Reed (drums) improvise both within the composition itself, and as a trio on Escapade For Sonny, a trio improvisation which preceded the premiere of Ceremonies..

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

Nick Cave   User offline   22 August 2015 23:42

Muchas Gracias !!!!

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.