Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


The Gurdjieff Folk Instrument Ensemble & Levon Eskenian - Komitas (2015) HDtracks

13-11-2015, 17:08
Music | Jazz | Classical Music | World | FLAC / APE | HD & Vinyl

Title: Komitas
Year Of Release: 2015
Label: ECM
Genre: World, Classical, Jazz
Quality: 320 / 24bit-96kHz FLAC
Total Time: 57:40
Total Size: 135 MB / 1.01 GB


1. Zulo
2. Mani Asem, Tsaghik Asem
3. Msho Shoror
4. Havun
5. Mankakan Nvag XII
6. Lorva Gutanerg
7. Seven Dances: Manushaki of Vagharshapat
8. Seven Dances: Shushiki of Vagharshapat
9. Seven Dances: Unabi of Shushi
10. Seven Dances: Marali of Shushi
11. Seven Dances: Yerangui of Yerevan
12. Seven Dances: Het u Araj of Karin
13. Seven Dances: Karno Shoror
14. Hov Arek
15. Gutane Hats Em Berum
16. Hoy, Nazan
17. Havik
18. Akna Oror

Levon Eskenian and the musicians of The Gurdjieff Ensemble feature the music of Komitas Vardapet (1869-1935), composer, ethnomusicologist, arranger, singer and priest, and popularly held to be the founder of contemporary music in Armenia.

"Music, its forms and rituals, has the power to bring us close to distant civilizations," says Levon Eskenian in his booklet notes. "Armenia offers a special case: a sacred culture that was preserved and presented at its fullest flowering through the work of one man, the scholar-monk Soghomon Soghomonian, known under his religious name as Komitas, to which is sometimes appended the title Vardapet (archimandrite)."

In his work as a collector of thousands of folk songs, sacred songs and instrumental melodies, Komitas explored the connections that uniquely bind together Armenian sacred and secular music. With their special focus on folk instrumentation and inspired arrangements the Gurdjieff Ensemble illuminates the deep roots of Komitas's compositions in this programme recorded in Lugano in February 2015.

The Armenian Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble was founded by Levon Eskenian to play 'ethnographically authentic' arrangements of the G.I. Gurdjieff/Thomas de Hartmann piano music. Their debut album on ECM, 'Music of Georges I. Gurdjieff', was widely acclaimed, and won an Edison Award as Album of the Year in 2012.

Personnel: Emmanuel Hovhannisyan (duduk), Avag Margaryan (blul), Armen Ayvazyan (kamancha), Aram Nikoghosyan (oud), Meri Vardanyan (kanon), Vladimir Papikyan (santur), Davit Avagyan (tar, saz), Mesrop Khalatyan (dap), Norayr Gapoyan (duduk), Eduard Harutyunyan (percussion), Levon Eskenian (director)

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted

gibheid   User offline   13 November 2015 18:57

Thanks sddd.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

mondzeichen   User offline   14 November 2015 16:37

Thank You very much, @sddd! :-)

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.