Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Emerson String Quartet - Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy - The Complete String Quartets & Octet for Strings (4CD) (2005)

29-10-2016, 09:20
Classical Music | FLAC / APE

Title: Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy - The Complete String Quartets & Octet for Strings
Year Of Release: 2005
Label: Deutsche Grammophon
Genre: Classical
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue)
Total Time: 04:02:06
Total Size: 1,11 Gb


CD 1:
Quartet no.2 in A minor, op.13
1 I Adagio - Allegro vivace
2 II Adagio non lento
3 III Intermezzo- Alegretto con moto
4 IV Presto
5 Fugue in E flat major, op.81 no.4 - A tempo ordinario
Quartet no.1 in E flat major, op.12
6 I Adagio non troppo - Allegro non tardante
7 II Canzonetta - Allegretto
8 III Andante espressivo
9 IV Molto allegro e vivace

CD 2:
Quartet no.4 in E minor, op.44 no.2
1 I Allegro assai appassionato
2 II Scherzo: Allegro di molto
3 III Andante
4 IV Presto agitato
Quartet no.5 in E flat major, op.44 no.3
5 I Allegro vivace
6 II Scherzo- Assai leggiero vivace
7 III Adagio non troppo
8 IV Molto allegro con fuoco

CD 3:
Quartet no.3 in D major, op.44 no.1
1 I Molto Allegro vivace
2 II Menuetto - Un poco Allegretto
3 III Andante espressivo ma con moto
4 IV Presto con brio
5 Capriccio op.81 no.3 in E minor - Andante con moto - Allegro fugato, assai vivace
Quartet no.6 in F minor, op.80
6 I Allegro vivace assai
7 II Allegro assai
8 III Adagio
9 IV Finale: Allegro molto
10 Tema con variazioni (Andante) op.81 no.1 in E major - Andante sostenuto
11 Scherzo op.81 no.2 in A minor - Allegro leggiero

CD 4:

Octet for Strings in E flat major, op.20
1 I Allegro moderato, ma con fuoco
2 II Andante
3 III Scherzo - allegro leggierissimo
4 IV Presto
Quartet in E flat major (1823)
5 I Allegro moderato
6 II Adagio non troppo
7 III Minuetto
8 IV Fuga

Emerson String Quartet:

Eugene Drucker (violin)
Philip Setzer (violin)
Lawrence Dutton (viola)
David Finckel (cello)

This set of the String Quartets of Mendelssohn may prove to be the most lasting contribution the Emerson Quartet has yet made to the string quartet discography. While the Emerson has always been slightly out of its depth in the quartets of Bartók, Beethoven, and Shostakovich, in the quartets of Mendelssohn, the Emerson has met its match. This is not to disparage either the Emerson Quartet, much less Mendelssohn. The Emerson is easily the finest string quartet in contemporary America, a supple ensemble with a warm tone, a strong technique, and an expressive manner. And Mendelssohn is easily the finest of the German composers of the 1830s and 1840s, a polished composer with an inexhaustible imagination, an assured technique, and an ardent heart. Together, Mendelssohn and the Emerson are smart, stylish, witty, and touching. It is a pleasure to spend time in their company. While the vehemence of Bartók, the sublimity of Beethoven, and the agony of Shostakovich may be just beyond the reach of the Emerson, the humanity of Mendelssohn is well within its grasp. Deutsche Grammophon's sound is clear, warm, and deep.


CD 1:


CD 2:


CD 3:


CD 4:


My Releases

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted

tiger   User offline   29 December 2015 15:21

Thanks a lot.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.