Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Henry Threadgill - Novus & Columbia Recordings of Henry Threadgill & Air [8 CD Box Set] (2010) (MP3 & LOSSLESS)

24-01-2016, 15:36
Jazz | Discography | FLAC / APE

Title: Novus & Columbia Recordings of Henry Threadgill & Air
Year Of Release: 2010
Label: Mosaic
Genre: Jazz
Quality: FLAC (Tracks)/MP3 320 kbps
Total Time: 8CD, 08:07:25 min
Total Size: 2,65 Gb/1,08 Gb

Talk to Henry Threadgill about the influences in his music, and he is drawn to talk about food. Or patterns of light in the sky. Or a building across the street from a rehearsal studio. Talking about an instrument's role in a composition, he is likely to mention not the rhythm of the drums, but the tuning, and a discussion about harmony becomes a question of how much white and red to add to the painting. He is not trying to be pretentious or profound. He is telling you how his mind works to create the things he hears. Henry Threadgill was a founding member of the now legendary Association for the Advancement of Creative Music (AACM) of Chicago, but before and since he has been a founding member of the Henry Threadgill college of making music that matters. And to Threadgill, all music matters - Charlie Parker and street marching bands and Poulenc and Balinese dance. Now, this first big collection of his music provides an opportunity to hear how those ideas collided, entwined, and rainbowed across an almost uninterrupted span of nearly 20 years. Its eight CDs are filled with music that was carefully imagined, deeply felt, and wonderfully executed. The period begins in 1978 with Open Air Suit, hailed for its complexity and for the uncanny way musicians Threadgill (reeds and flutes), Fred Hopkins (bass) and Steve McCall (drums) could instantly communicate through improvisation, The set moves from three albums by Air and one by Threadgill's "X-75" to three on RCA with his seven-man Sextett and ends with his three albums for Columbia that are collages of styles, musical traditions and unlikely instrumentation, achieving accessibility, warmth and humor through his dark and mysterious sonic palette. Along the way it unveils for the first time ever, a completely unheard Arista/Novus X-75 session from 1979 featuring many of the biggest names associated with the avant garde.

Henry Threadgill - Novus & Columbia Recordings of Henry Threadgill & Air [8 CD Box Set] (2010) (MP3 & LOSSLESS) Henry Threadgill - Novus & Columbia Recordings of Henry Threadgill & Air [8 CD Box Set] (2010) (MP3 & LOSSLESS)
1. Card Two: The Jick or Mandrill’s Cosmic Ass (A) 7:29
2. Card Five: Open Air Suit (A) 10:18
3. Card Four: Strait White Royal Flush…78 (A) 6:14
4. Card One: Cutten (2 Knuckles, 2 Widows, 2 Tricks)/3 X 1 (A) 15:30
5. Let’s All Go Down To The Footwash (B) 10:25
6. Abra (B) 13:00

1. Suisse Air (B) 15:23 (Threadgill-Hopkins-McCall)
2. The Ragtime Dance (C) 9:19 (Scott Joplin – arranged by Threadgill-Hopkins-McCall)
3. Buddy Bolden’s Blues (C) 9:28 (Jelly Roll Morton)
4. King Porter Stomp (C) 3:48 (Jelly Roll Morton)
5. Paille Street (C) 2:19
6. Weeping Willow Rag (C) 11:36 (Scott Joplin – arranged by Threadgill-Hopkins-McCall)

1. Sir Simpleton (D) 6:28
2. Celebration (D) 13:30
3. Air Song (D) 10:22
4. Fe Fi Fo Fum (D) 13:03
5. Luap Nosebor (E) 11:34
6. Salute To The Enema Bandit (E) 10:21
7. Melin (E) 6:29

1. Bermuda Blues (F) 9:27
2. Silver And Gold Baby, Silver And Gold (F) 5:44
3. Theme From Thomas Cole (F) 6:40
4. Good Times (F) 6:35
5. To Be Announced (F) 6:29
6. Paille Street (F) 4:26
7. Those Who Eat Cookies (F) 6:19
8. I Can’t Wait Till I Get Home (G) 4:08 (Olu Dara)
9. Black Hands Bejewelled (G) 7:05
10. Spotted Dick Is Pudding (G) 8:54

1. Let Me Look Down Your Throat or Say Ah (G) 7:12
2. My Rock (G) 8:11
3. Hall (dedicated to Muhal Richard Abrams) (G) 4:15
4. Award The Squadtett (G) 7:02
5. Off The Rag (H) 12:42
6. The Devil Is On The Loose And Dancin’ With a Monkey (H) 6:42
7. Gift (H) 5:44
8. Sweet Holy Rag (H) 13:23

1. Come Carry The Day (I) 6:16
2. Growing A Big Banana (I) 3:30
3. Vivjanrondirkski (I) 5:55
4. Between Orchids Lillies Blind Eyes and Cricket (I) 7:48
5. Hyla Crucifer…Silence Of (I) 6:11
6. Jenkins Boys Again, Wish Somebody Die, It’s Hot (I) 7:40

1. Noisy Flowers (J) 6:42
2. Like It Feels (J) 11:17
3. Official Silence (J) 8:54
4. Retired Poverty (J) 9:04
5. Make Hot And Give (J) 7:56
6. The Mockingbird Sin (J) 12:13
7. Dirty In The Right Places (J) 8:11

1. 100 Year Old Game (K) 10:55
2. Laughing Club (K) 5:00
3. Where’s Your Cup? (K) 11:15
4. And This (K) 13:40
5. Feel’s Like It (K) 6:39
6. The Flew (K) 9:50
7. Go To Far (K) 8:56
All compositions by Henry Threadgill, unless otherwise noted.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.