Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Bob Baldwin - Betcha By Golly Wow: The Songs Of Thom Bell (2012)

25-01-2016, 17:17
Jazz | Smooth Jazz | FLAC / APE

Title: Betcha By Golly Wow: The Songs Of Thom Bell
Year Of Release: 2012
Label: Entertainment One Music
Genre: Jazz / Smooth Jazz
Quality: MP3 | FLAC
Total Time: 00:52:00
Total Size: 119 mb | 348 mb


1. Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time) Feat. Russ Freeman [05:17]
2. The Rubberband Man Feat. Paul Brown & Ragan Whiteside [05:42]
3. La La Means I Love You Feat. Vivian Green [05:06]
4. Gonna Be Sweeter [05:02]
5. Break Up To Make Up Feat. Will Downing [05:09]
6. You're As Right As Rain Feat. Paul Taylor [04:46]
7. I'll Be Around Feat. Marion Meadows [04:43]
8. Bell & Creed [03:02]
9. Betcha By Golly Wow Feat. Toni Redd [06:42]
10. People Make The World Go Round Feat. Marion Meadows [06:08]

Given songwriter and producer Thom Bell's legendary reputation, it's difficult to believe that this is the first contemporary jazz record to pay tribute to his work. Co-produced by Bob Baldwin, Will Downing, and former Bell sideman Preston Glass, Betcha by Golly Wow is a second chapter for Baldwin and Downing; the first was Never Can Say Goodbye: A Tribute to Michael Jackson in 2009. As has been typical of his own recordings for the past two decades, Baldwin plays multiple instruments, from drums and bass to keyboards. The three producers have enlisted a star-studded cast to create a seamless, warm, and elegant selection of Bell tunes. "Didn't I (Blow Your Mind This Time)," features Russ Freeman's guitar holding court on the melody. Ragan Whiteside and Paul Brown -- on flutes and guitars respectively -- funk things up a bit on "The Rubberband Man," with Baldwin's piano slipping the lyric line in between in the stepping groove. Vivian Green's vocals grace a fine reading of "La-La Means I Love You." Gerald Albright, Downing, and Baldwin reprise their cover of "Break Up to Make Up" from 1993. Downing's voice may be a bit lower 20 years later, but it's lost none of its expressiveness. A sweet, uptempo reading of "I'll Be Around" features the soprano saxophone of Marion Meadows, as does the closer "People Make the World Go Round," played as an elegant groover. The latter features some lovely piano work by Baldwin.The only cut that doesn't work here is "Bell & Creed," an overly sentimental tribute to the songwriter and producer Linda Creed, Bell's production partner at Philly International. That small hiccup aside, this is a well-arranged, nicely selected collection of some of Bell's finest tunes, performed by some of contemporary jazz's best.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.