Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Bellowhead - Bellowhead Live: The Farewell Tour (2016)

25-04-2016, 16:30
Folk | FLAC / APE

Title: Bellowhead Live: The Farewell Tour
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Navigator Records
Genre: Folk
Quality: 320 / FLAC
Total Time: 2:06:03
Total Size: 289 / 856 MB


01. Roll Alabama
02. 10,000 Miles Away
03. Lillibulero
04. Betsy Baker
05. If You Will Not Have Me, You May Let Me Go
06. Jordan
07. Haul Away
08. Captain Wedderburn
09. What's the Life of a Man?
10. Let Union Be
11. Whiskey Is the Life of Man
12. Fine Sally
13. Gosport Nancy
14. Parson's Farewell
15. Roll the Woodpile Down

01. Let Her Run
02. Old Dun Cow
03. Rosemary Lane
04. Moon Kittens
05. The March Past
06. Byker Hill
07. The Wife of Usher's Well
08. Jack Lintel
09. Black Beetle Pies
10. Greenwood Side
11. Sloe Gin
12. London Town
13. New York Girls
14. Frogs Legs & Dragon's Teeth

Big band Bellowhead have a fair claim to being the most significant folk performers on the scene during their eleven year run. They would never be mistaken for anything but a folk band as they remained true to their roots and performed all manner of traditional material. But they did it in a way that hadn’t been done before. Their music was a full-on assault: loud, fizzing with energy, frequently mad, always entertaining. And they took that music to places other folk performers could only dream of: sell-out tours in big venues and decent slots at non-folk festivals as well as the expected runs at the likes of Cambridge and Shrewsbury. And this is the key to the band. While every one of their studio albums is outstanding and last year’s compilation “Pandemonium” a fine introduction, it was in the live arena that they truly shone. No matter the audience, from hard core folkies to people who would normally run a mile from “folk”, they won them over with the power of their live shows and the fact that every gig basically turned into a party driven along by the twenty-two-legged groove machine on stage.

Released to coincide with the second and final leg of their farewell tour this is a handsome package and a bargain to boot. For little more than the price of a single album you get a double live one with twenty-nine tracks and a 23 track DVD recorded at Leicester’s De Montfort Hall on the tour’s first leg. The musicianship is exemplary as the band have always boasted some of the finest players out there, the arrangements innovative and the playing wild. And of course in Jon Boden they have one of the finest frontmen of this or any genre. Highlights are everywhere, lowlights are non-existent, and while many will point to the thunderous “Jordan”, the joyous “Roll The Woodpile Down” or the madness of “London Town” as favourites, and rightly so, its perhaps the unexpected that leaves the deepest mark, and for this reviewer that’s the acapella take of Richard Thompson’s “Down Where the Drunkards Roll” that ends the DVD. They used to say that working in advertising was as much fun as you can have with your clothes on. They were wrong, or at least had never been to a Bellowhead gig. They will be sorely missed. Remember them this way.

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
1 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.