Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


Clifford Brown - The Definitive Clifford Brown (2002)

26-05-2016, 04:58
Jazz | FLAC / APE

Title: The Definitive Clifford Brown
Year Of Release: 2002
Label: Verve
Genre: Jazz / Hard Bop
Quality: FLAC (tracks)
Total Time: 01:16:02
Total Size: 241 MB


01. Easy Living (3:43)
02. Wee Dot (7:00)
03. Jordu (7:45)
04. I Get a Kick Out of You (7:42)
05. Joy Spring (6:50)
06. Daahoud (4:04)
07. I've Got You Under My Skin (5:23)
08. He's My Guy (4:13)
09. Born to Be Blue (5:17)
10. Stardust (3:26)
11. Cherokee (5:47)
12. I'll Remember April (9:15)
13. The Scene Is Clean (6:05)

When Clifford Brown emerged in 1952, he brought a shining new voice to jazz trumpet, combining a clear, bell-like sound and brilliant articulation with a new flexibility of line. By the time of his tragic death at 25--in a car accident in 1956--Brown had reshaped the jazz trumpet legacy for succeeding generations, influencing players from Lee Morgan and Freddie Hubbard to Wynton Marsalis and Roy Hargrove. This compilation shows how and why. His soaring leads and subtle accompaniments were clearly appreciated by singers, and there are appearances here with Dinah Washington, Sarah Vaughan, and Helen Merrill. That lyric bent is captured too in the gorgeous "Stardust," the rich, burnished brass of his horn cast against a lush backdrop of strings. But Brown's greatest moments come in the hard-bop quintets where you hear his special rhythmic invention matched with the giants of modern jazz drumming. "Wee Dot" is performed by a prototype of the Jazz Messengers, with Art Blakey and Horace Silver, while Brown is most frequently heard here in different versions of the quintet he lead with Max Roach. Brown's versions of his own "Joy Spring" and "Daahoud" are an essential part of modern jazz, while his creative exchange with tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins has rarely been equaled. -- Stuart Broomer DOWNLOAD DOWNLOAD DOWNLOAD

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 0
0 voted


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.