Sign Up Now | Log In

Member Login


ORA - Upheld by Stillness (Renaissance Gems & their Reflections Volume 1: Byrd) (2016)

16-11-2016, 21:23
2016 | Classical Music | HD & Vinyl

Title: Upheld by Stillness
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Harmonia Mundi
Genre: Classical
Quality: 24bit-96kHz FLAC
Total Time: 1:18:13
Total Size: 1.28 GB


1. Philippe de Monte - Super flumina Babylonis 4 46
2. William Byrd - Quomodo cantabimus 7 02
3. William Byrd Mass for 5 Voices - Kyrie 1 30
4. William Byrd Mass for 5 Voices - Gloria 5 04
5. William Byrd Mass for 5 Voices - Credo 9 16
6. William Byrd Mass for 5 Voices - Sanctus and Benedictus 3 39
7. William Byrd Mass for 5 Voices - Agnus Dei 3 39
8. Roxanna Panufnik Kyrie after Byrd 3 44
9. Francis Pott Laudate Dominum 6 00
10. Alexander L Estrange Show me, deare Christ 13 10
11. Owain Park Upheld by stillness 6 54
12. Charlotte Bray Agnus Dei 4 40
13. William Byrd Ave verum corpus 3 34
14. Roderick Williams Ave verum corpus Re-imagined 5 46

If the Renaissance can justifiably lay claim to being a golden age for choral music I have long believed that we are currently in a new glittering age of both choral writing and performing. Throughout the world choral standards are ever on the increase and twenty-first-century composers are responding to this by writing exciting and challenging material for choirs, both amateur and professional. My first album conducting ORA is focused around that towering figure of the English music scene, William Byrd, alongside commissioned works by some of the UK s foremost choral composers, reflecting upon Byrd s Mass for Five Voices and Ave Verum Corpus. I am so grateful to the composers of all these wonderful new works. I am sure they will entertain and enlighten for many years to come. Suzi Digby OBE

'a musical comet ... you ll go a long way to hear singing this good. Truly, this is British choral music s new golden age.' --Claudia Pritchard Independent on Sunday, 14th February 2016

'ORA is made up of some of the UK s finest consort singers, sitting to my ears somewhere between The Sixteen and Tenebrae ... The melancholy severity of Byrd s original is beautifully measured, ORA supplying some of the flexibility and relish for the unfolding harmonies I sometimes miss from The Sixteen s recording ... I ll be listening eagerly to see if volume 2 is done with such a sure touch.' --Andrew McGregor - BBC Radio 3 Record Review, 13th February 2016

This impressive disc marks the debut of the 18-voice chamber choir Ora. If you re wondering why another such ensemble is needed, the very distinctive programme is the answer: around a fluent, sober account of Byrd s great Mass for Five Voices, artistic director Suzi Digby has commissioned a set of new works each reflecting a movement of the mass, from Roxanna Panufnik, Francis Pott and others. The more literal references to Byrd are less successful than those where imagination takes flight, notably Owain Park s Upheld By Stillness, a Kathleen Raine setting that gives the disc its title. In bold projects like this, the ever-reliable English choral tradition is renewed again. --The Guardian

Tired of advertising and pop-ups? Join Now on IsraBox
Register on IsraBox allows you to access to the full resources. You can see torrent links, leave your comments, see hidden text, minimum advertising (no pop-ups), ask for supports and much more.

  • 100
2 voted

Zumby   User offline   31 May 2016 23:55

Such a great contribution- Worthy buying it, sure. Thanx very much for the information.

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

fastone   User offline   16 November 2016 23:49

NitroFlare: Upheld by Stillness.part2.rar "This file has been removed due to inactivity."

  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like

sddd   User offline   17 November 2016 10:59

Quote: fastone
NitroFlare: Upheld by Stillness.part2.rar "This file has been removed due to inactivity."


  • Dislike
  • 0
  • Like


Users of are not allowed to comment this publication.